Science in Summer

                Recently, I had a mini trip, together with my cousins. Since, they will be staying here with us for only two days, we take this chance to visit The Mind Museum at the Fort, Bonifacio Global CityTaguig. It is just a quick ride from our place. My cousins are still studying, so,this will be good for them to sharpen  their knowledge about Science before the school start! It can be of their advantage if they refresh their memory with visuals like going to the museum. Well, of course , their parents aren’t around to chaperone them so, me and my sister will be their guardians for the day– wow a lot of pressure!  It is also my first time to visit the it, so, I’m as much as excited as them!

                 This will mark the end of our summer, so we made this opportunity fun! And, because school days are just around the corner, this will be a learning experience not just for them but also, for us, too!

The Mariano K. Tan Hall serves as their lobby.
DSC_1344

At the entrance, we are given instructions and rules and regulations while touring around. And this resident robot, Aedi! (does it ring a bell??) welcomes us! Isn’t that sweet? *blushes*

DSC_1349

Yes! If you flip the word, it’s read as IDEA!

As we go deeper inside the museum, you’ll discover that their exhibition narrates 5 interconnected stories of nature from the smallest thing to the largest.

The Story of the Atom: The Strange World of the Very Small

DSC_1522 

This is the first time I saw this big periodic table! And it has a lot of visuals and is virtual, too! We don’t have something like this when I was in college. *awww*

DSC_1519
DSC_1524

This Static Van de Graaff is so wicked! I tested this with my cousin and our hairs just float on different directions! Take note: Do not to let go on the ball, and if chances are, you unintentionally lost your hold, don’t hold the ball again. (that’s what the staff said)

DSC_1523
DSC_1539

DSC_1828

W-O-W! Just WOW! This chocolate bar just made my day! Imagine I really had this big of a chocolate? I’ll surely be in heaven! πŸ™‚

DSC_1820

DSC_1814

This structure reminded me of my college years, where you have to remember it together with theophylline and caffeine! Oh yeah! Smart girl, indeed! πŸ˜› It just brings back memories of College!

The Story of the Earth: Nature Across the Breadth of Time

DSC_1434

This reminded me of the Land Before Time, wherein dinosaurs live and is not wipe out entirely.

DSC_1455

Can you guess which planet is this? πŸ˜€

DSC_1459

DSC_1829

The Story of Life: The Exuberance of Life

DSC_1470

Look at those floating beach balls!  There is a Science behind it all, can you tell what it is?

DSC_1499

My sister found a new friend in this big fella. *laughs*

DSC_1483

The BRAIN! Can you differentiate the different parts of it? πŸ™‚

DSC_1480
DSC_1503

The Story of the Universe: Its Beginning and Majesty

DSC_1379

This part of the museum is the best part for me. I know, I’m being biased about it because as you know, I fancied stars that much. But really, I think it caught my attention that much because in here you’ll discover so much about the Universe. And, it is not everyday that we see what’s outside of our planet.

DSC_1688

Astronauts for me, is a heroic job. Imagine, you’re in space and the only thing you can rely on is yourself. You can communicate with others but not in the kind of sense that we have here. So, I decided I gotta have a picture with an astronaut! (even if it is just a prototype) Hehe!

The Story of Technology: The Showcase of Human Ingenuity

DSC_1558
DSC_1561
DSC_1566

0-0-1-1-0-1-0-1-0 …. oh hey, that’s my name in binary codes. I tried this dance game and it is confusing, I might say.

DSC_1588

DSC_1560

DSC_1569

DSC_1579

DSC_1594

DSC_1584

Each of the galleries were connected by crucial links dubbed as Nature’s Webways.

Lightbridge

DSC_1547

Tunnelcraft

DSC_1684

Inner-Space Track

DSC_1516

We also experienced some of their virtual shows. I think this is taken on the “Earth” part. There is also one movie viewing on “Universe” part of the museum. This is in 3D while the other one is not.

DSC_1452

Birthplace is a 3D, animated film on 4.6 billion years of Earth’s natural History.

Around the museum, you will learn a lot of things about where we had come from, from what our planets are made of, and a lot of that sorts. I don’t have to elaborate more. You have just to find out yourself, though. Haha! For someone who love Science, I mean who really is a enthusiast of Science, I can guarantee that you’ll enjoy it soooooooo much, better than I do.

Oh, by the way, there is also a cafe on the second floor, where you can chill and buy food and if your feet it hurting.*guilty* It is called Kyle’s Lab. There is also a station where you can donate, and in exchange of that you get your own comet, or even the Universe. Well, it depends on the denomination of your donation. πŸ˜› (you can also visit their website to know more about it)

At the exit, you can find a gift/souvenir shop where you can buy something  to be remembered of you trip around here. There is so much to choose from.

DSC_1341

*if you check-in to foursquare you get a gift from them, just present the badge at the Information Booth. πŸ™‚ I got a pin! Yey!

DSC_1845

 After our 3 hours of touring and taking pictures, of course, and be amazed of what’s inside, you can’t get the hang of it! Until now, I had a hangover about it.

DSC_1850

Too bad we didn’t get the chance to tour around the Science-in-the-Park and JY Campos Park on that day because they are building a tent for campers. But, surely on our next visit we will. 

visit themindmuseum.org to know more.

~~chop,chop!

Picture1b

